Sunday, December 20, 2009

All-Stars Classic

An array of international bowling stars are competing in the inaugural two-day All-Stars Classic bowling championship which rolled off this afternoon at the Sunway Mega Lanes vying for a total prize money of RM88,000.

The championship which sees both men and women bowlers compete together, where the top 24 bowlers will received cash prizes with champion winning RM30,000, the runners-up RM15,000, third placed RM7,000 and fourth placed RM5,000.

Handicaps of 5 pins, 8pins and 15pins will be given per game for Men’s Graded, Women’s Open and Women’s Graded bowlers.

Among the challengers include newly crowned Milo International Junior All-Stars Bowling champions Korea’s Kim Jong Wook and Malaysia’s Esther Cheah.

Other stars competing, include recently crowned men’s AMF-Qubica Bowling World Cup champion in Malacca, Korea’s Choi Yong Kyu accompanied by Korean national team, women bowlers, Jeon Eun Hee ranked number in Korea and Shin Bo Hyun and men’s national team’s Jang Dong Chul.

Several other international bowlers competing are Wendy Kok from Canada, Thailand’s Surasak Manuwong and Yannaphon L, Indonesia’s Tannya Roumimper and David Candra Australia’s Trenton Barnier and Sam Cooley, Poland’s Felinda Grzybowska, Bahrain’s Mohamed Ali and India’s Dhruv Sarda, Dilbir Singh and Shabbir A.D.

Malaysia challenge besides Esther, will come from almost the entire national team competing with the likes of Zulmazran Zulkilfi, Adrian Ang, Aaron Kong, Alex Liew, Muhamad Syafiq Ridhwan, Muhd Nur Aiman from the men’s team and Shalin Zulkifli, Siti Safiyah Amirah, Zandra Aziela, Wendy Chai and Zatil Iman Abdul Ghani from the women’s team.

About 100 bowlers are vying for the top 42 places bowling in two blocks of six games until late tonight

The top three bowlers from the Boys and Girls Open bowlers from the Milo International Junior All-Stars Bowling Championship which concluded on Saturday, will automatically join the 42 qualifiers in tomorrow morning's top 48 round where they will bowl six games.

Then, the top 24 will make the cut for the next round, where they will bowl another six games before the top six make the cut for the stepladder finals in the evening.

No comments: