Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Pride of the Delhi CWG

A Brief History of the Commonwealth Games

 The very first Commonwealth Games were held in Hamilton, Canada in the year 1930. Canadian Athlete, Bobby Robinson was the key force behind the start of the games as he finally put talks that were taking place for decades into practice. A total of 11 nations accumulating 400 athletes participated in CWG 1930.Since 1930 the games have been taking place once in every four years except 1942 and 1946 due to the intervention of World War II. Out of the 16 games that have been played so far, four of them have been hosted by Australian cities (Sydney 1938, Perth 1962, Brisbane 1982 and Melbourne 2006).The name of the Games has been shuffled quite a few times. Between the years 1930 and 1950, the Commonwealth Games were renamed as the British Empire Games and then the British Empire. From 1966 to 1974, the games were called the British Commonwealth Games and 1978 onwards they were titled to what is now the Commonwealth Games.Commonwealth Games were founded on the basis of history and not on the nations geographical position or climatic conditions. One of the main characteristics of the Games is that the participating countries share one common language. From athletes to coaches and other officials, everyone can converse with each other in English, creating a friendly atmosphere leading to the games often being called as the "Friendly Games".

In order to keep the Games always competitive and exciting, the Commonwealth Games Federation agreed to include team sports in Kuala Lumpur 1998 for the first time in the history of the Games. Unlike other sporting events, Commonwealth Games bring together nations from different continents under one roof sharing the family spirit of the same historical moments, experiences and links that go beyond cultural barriers.

Source: Hindustan Times

 Jawaharlal Nehru Sports Complex

Jawaharlal Nehru Sports Complex is a modern and a fully equipped sports complex with world class facilities.

Stadium Facts

Capacity 60,000
Competition Arena 400 m 9 lane Conica Synthetic surface Athletic track with 10 lanes in Home Straight, 60 m 4 lane Conica Synthetic surface strip at Indoor hold up area and two warm up areas - 8 lane Conica synthetic surface track and for Long Throws
Distance from Games Village 12 Km

Lawn Bowls
Capacity 2,111
Competition Arena Four competition synthetic greens with flood lights
Distance from Games Village 12 Km

Capacity 2,500
Competition Arena One competition platform; 12 warm-up platforms
Distance from Games Village 12 Km

Stadium Events
Event Event Dates
Opening Ceremony 03 Oct. 2010
Athletics Track & Field 06-12 Oct. 2010
Marathon 14 Oct. 2010
Walk 09 Oct. 2010
Lawn Bowls 04-13 Oct. 2010
Weightlifting 04-12 Oct. 2010
Closing Ceremony 14 Oct. 2010

Check out all the venues for the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games and the sports competed at the respective venue here or below
Siri Fort Sports Complex

Competition Schedule for CWG 2010

Event Venue Event Dates
Opening Ceremony JN Stadium 03 Oct. 2010
Aquatics Diving Dr SPM Swimming Complex 10-13 Oct. 2010
Swimming 04-09 Oct. 2010
Synchronised Swimming 06-07 Oct. 2010
Archery Yamuna Sports Complex 04-10 Oct. 2010
Athletics Track & Field JN Stadium 06-12 Oct. 2010
Marathon JN Stadium/Marathon Course 14 Oct. 2010
Walk 09 Oct. 2010
Badminton Siri Fort Sports Complex 04-14 Oct. 2010
Boxing Talkatora Indoor Stadium 05-11, 13 Oct. 2010
Cycling Track IG Sports Complex 05-08 Oct. 2010
Road Mass Start 10 Oct. 2010
Road Time Trials Noida Highway Express Rd 13 Oct. 2010
Gymnastics Artistic IG Sports Complex 04-08 Oct. 2010
Rhythmic 12-14 Oct. 2010
Hockey Maj. Dhyan Chand National Stadium 04-14 Oct. 2010
Lawn Bowls JN Sports Complex 04-13 Oct. 2010
Netball Thyagaraj Sports Complex 04-12, 14 Oct. 2010
Rugby Sevens Delhi University 11-12 Oct. 2010
Shooting Clay Target Dr Karni Singh Shooting Range 06-13 Oct. 2010
Full Bore CRPF Campus, Kadarpur 09-13 Oct. 2010
Pistol and Small Bore Dr Karni Singh Shooting Range 05-13 Oct. 2010
Squash Siri Fort Sports Complex 04-13 Oct. 2010
Table Tennis Yamuna Sports Complex 04-14 Oct. 2010
Tennis RK Khanna Tennis Stadium 04-10 Oct. 2010
Weightlifting JN Sports Complex 04-12 Oct. 2010
Wrestling IG Sports Complex 05-10 Oct. 2010
Closing Ceremony JN Stadium 14 Oct. 2010
Source: Hindustan Times

No comments: