Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Air Asia X rallys behind Team GSR Pennzoil Racing Team

After Formula 1 and the World Motorbike GP it's now motor rallying for Air Asia.
The latest venture for the Malaysian based low cost airline is the co-sponsorship deal with the GSR Pennzoil Rallying team which is taking part in the Asia Pacific Rallying Championship(APRC) and also the Malaysian Rally Championship.
An agreement between both parties was finally sealed and delivered this afternoon at the Air Asia X
office in Sepang in which the GSR Pennzoil Team headed by Gunaseelan Rajoo and Air Asia
agreed to a one-year sponsorship deal.
"We are happy to come on board as a sponsor to help support the GSR Pennzoil Racing team. It
actually fits into our plan where motor racing is close to our hearts. We are involved in Formula 1 and
also the British MotoGP and now we are also into motor rallying.
"Our contribution actually meant helping to send a Malaysian team to compete in the
Asia Pacific Rally Championship in destinations where we fly too. At the end of the day
it's all about lending a hand to promote Malaysian sports because we are also involved in
other sports like basketball, marathon and cricket," said the Chief Executive Officer
of Air Asia Azran Osman Rani.
 For Gunaseelan Rajoo, Air Asia's sponsorship deal meant a huge load off his shoulders
as he and co-driver Jagdeev Singh prepares to tackle the six-round APRC championship.
The opening leg in Johor Baru early in the month is behind them where he leads the
field in the  A6 2-wheel drive class.
Queensland, Australia is next, scheduled for May 13-15 and after that is New Caledonia in June followed by New Zealand in July and then Japan and China next.
"We are grateful for their support. We are working on a RM1.2 million budget for the entire APRC Championship and there is also the four-round Malaysian Rally Championship which we are
also involved in.
"So Air Asia's contribution will go a long way," said Gunaseelan Rajoo whose
stable of drivers include the former world champion Karamjit Singh; the four-time APRC champion Cody Crocker and the reigning APRC champion Katsu Taguchi.

No comments: