Sunday, May 31, 2009

Stock taking time!

I suppose common sense prevailed in the end, when the incumbents were voted in at the biennial 28th Olympic Council of Malaysia general meeting at Wisma OCM this morning.

With Tunku Tan Sri Imran Tuanku Ja'afar retaining the president's post after former Perlis Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim decided to withdraw from the contest (for the second consecutive BGM) on Friday evening, all eyes were on the battle for the deputy
president's post where Datuk Seri Dr Ibrahim Saad challenged Datuk Dr M. Jegathesan.

As it turned out, it was a breeze for Jegathesan, as affiliates decided to stick with the incumbents for the day. (Refer to Bernama's coverage on the elections)

Congratulations to all the office bearers, but the endorsement by the affiliates does not necessarily mean that they happy with the ways things have been shaping up for the last two years.

OCM's 2009-2011 line-up: From left: Low Beng Choo, Moira Tan, Rosmanizam Abdullah,Roy Rajasingham, Dr M. Jegathesan, Tunku Imran Tuanku Ja'afar, Prof W.Y. Chin, Ramlay Ibrahim, Sieh Kok Chi, Kee Yong Wee (not in pix: Abdullah Sani Karim and Prof Zakaria Ahmad)

The fact that there was challenge for all major posts, only meant that there were affiliates who wanted changes. And the elected officials must take the trouble to find out, what were the grievances of the affiliates for wanting to see changes in the OCM line up and work at it to win back their confidence.

OCM have often been criticised that they are only active when there are multi-sports Games at various levels. They have to change that tag.

In all fairness to OCM, they have been working to get closer to the affiliates by engaging them in seminars and surely there is more they can do.

Tunku Imran, after the elections,said that the OCM line-up must work hard especially in developing domestic sports, implementing the rating system for the National Sports Associations and developing the Sports Channel (Sports TV) for its affiliates. He said that the main purpose of setting up the Sports Channel is to provide better and wider coverage for sports activities by the affiliates.

A suggestion would be to get all the affiliates to meet the current OCM line-up, get their feedback and work on it. That way, there will be check-list to see if the officials have delivered.

The last thing the OCM lineup should do is rest on their laurels, but take the challenges they faced at the election as a wake-up call to do better for the next two years.

For those who failed win in the elections, they should not be bitter and undermine the efforts of the current lineup, but come forward to join hands and work together in whatever way they can in the best interest of Malaysian sports. And OCM, on the other hand, should not shut out these officials just because they challenged the incumbents.

The sporting spirit should prevail in the end and sports and the athletes should be the winners!

Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) line-up for 2009-2011:

President: Tunku Tan Sri Imran Tuanku Ja'afar (unopposed after Datuk Seri Shaidan Kassim withdrew)

Deputy president: Datuk Dr M Jegathesan (beat Datuk Seri Dr Ibrahim Saad 65-33)

Vice-presidents (four men and one women): Datuk Abdullah Sani Karim (95), Prof Datuk W.Y. China (89), Prof Zakaria Ahmad (79), Datuk Roy Rajasingham (70).
(M.P. Haridas - lost - 59 votes)
Low Beng Choo (unopposed as women VP)

Honorary secretary: Datuk Sieh kok Chi (unopposed)

Honorary assistant secretary (man): Ramlay Ibrahim (51) (Hisham Mohd Noor (23), L. Ramesh (18), Lawrence Yeow (3) - lost)

Honorary assistant secretary (woman): Moira tan Siew See (52)
Latifah Tan Sri Ya'cob (46) - lost)

Treasurer: Datuk Seri Kee Yong Wee (unopposed)

Assistant treasurer: Rosmanizam Abdullah (unopposed)

No comments: