Monday, May 13, 1991

Taiwan champs (The Malay Mail)

SHARP-MALAY MAIL held Taiwan to a scoreless draw for 120 minutes but bowed
out on a penalty shootout in the inaugural Philippines Cup final at Iloilo
City yesterday.
The win for Taiwan was sweet revenge after having lost by a solitary
goal to Sharp-MM in the preliminary round.
Sharp-MM deserved credit for putting up a determined fight despite
the 20,000 crowd rooting for Taiwan,
They took the field without three key players - R. Subramaniam and
Daniel Sinnapan due to injuries and A.R. Chandrasegar who was serving a
one match suspension.
Although Taiwan looked more dangerous, Sharp-MM did well to contain
them. In-form goalkeeper M. Pavalamani saved at least three sure goals.
Despite the defeat, Sharp-MM gained another feather to their cap
after winning the 1991 KL Dunhill League title.

No comments: