Tuesday, March 12, 1991

Sharp-MM land KL jackpot at last (NST)

SHARP-MALAY MAIL tore the formbook when they edged favourites City Hall
1-0 in the KLFA Dunhill League soccer final at KLFA Stadium in Cheras
It was the first ever title for Sharp-Malay Mail, runnersup in 1988,
who collected the top purse of $20,000 while City Hall settled for
Earlier, Bank Pertanian edged 1990 champions Maybank 5-4 on penalty
kicks (after extra-time: 1-1) to take third placing and $5,000.
Sharp-Malay Mail were also given a cash incentive by their sponsors,
Sharp who awarded them $5,000.
Sharp Public Relations Manager Mohamed Salleh Aziz said the cash
reward was part of their appreciation of the players' hard work and
sacrifices. "They really deserved it," he said.
Newcomer Daniel Sinnappan, who was a menace to the City Hall defence
on the left flank, scored Sharp MM's solitary goal in the 42nd minute when
goalkeeper Rashid Hassan failed to field the ball cleanly in a melee.
City Hall missed a penalty in the second half when striker Saidin
Osman sent the spotkick wide after he was tripped in the box by Rohaiza
City charged back with a vengeance but Sharp-MM goalkeeper M.
Pavalamani saved three good shots from Hashim Marman, Saidin and Tang Siew
Seng in the second half.
SHARP-MM...... 1
CITY HALL..... 0

No comments: